Social Ambitions: Anders & Mikael
Social Ambitions: Anders & Mikael

Social Ambitions was formed in Stockholm 2005.

The founding members are Anders Karlsson (lead vocals, synthesizers, composing, lyrics & production), Mikael Arborelius (backing vocals, synthesizers, composing & production). Previous member Frank Ekelund departed the band in 2007. In 2016 producer/music writer Peter Lönngren (writing, arranging, production) and vocalist Moffe Lundberg joined forces to form a new concept together. Currently in 2020 Social Ambitions is a duo of Anders and Mikael.

The first single Burning was released in 2006.
The debut album “Almost gone” was released October 15 2010 through Electric Fantastic Sound where the band have released the singles Burning (2006), Innocence (2007), The Strip (2008), Do you want to go (2010), Almost Gone, the single (2011), and Commandments (2011).

The mini album “Anticipation” was released 2012 and the album “Hunger” 2013 the same year as the label A Different drum released the limited edition compilation album “Purgatorio 07-13”. See Discography for details.

During 2016, the collaboration with Peter Lönngren and Moffe Lundberg resulted in “SA ISM I” and “SA ISM II“.

In June 2020 the third full length album A New Frontier was release by the duo.

Social Ambitions songs also appear on a number of collections and compilations with some special editions and extended versions.

Social Ambitions is blending influences from modern electronic music, indie pop and classic synth pop.  One can also hear the attitude and drive from techno, rock, post punk, and new wave. The mixture ends up in passionate synth pop with the the proud DNA of Swedish  melodic music with danceable beats. The lyrics often touch upon topics of belonging, longing and going where the heart wants to go